Advanced Research Computing Experts Drive Canadian Research Excellence


June 5, 2017, Kingston, ON -– Mark Dietrich, President and CEO at Compute Canada, announced the recipients of the 2017 Compute Canada Awards of Excellence. These awards recognize outstanding support and service provided to the Canadian research community and were presented at the bi-annual gathering of Compute Canada’s technical team.

More than 200 team members are distributed across Compute Canada’s four regions from coast to coast, and are employed by universities, regional consortia, or by Compute Canada directly. Together, this distributed team of analysts, system administrators, domain specialists, and other technical experts are enabling researchers to accelerate and amplify their results using advanced research computing (ARC) resources.

“The nominations we received provided inspiring examples of how team members went above and beyond the call of duty to solve researcher’s challenges, spearhead major projects, or lead transformational outreach and community-building efforts,” says Dietrich. “Compute Canada’s team of experts is one of our greatest resources, and I’m pleased we can recognize and celebrate their outstanding efforts to serve Canada’s research community.”

2017 Award Recipients

Outstanding Achievement Award

  • Julie Faure-Lacroix, Université Laval

Award of Excellence
(Individuals that embody the spirit of excellence.)

  • Martin Siegert, Simon Fraser University
  • Craig Squires, Memorial University
  • Bart Oldeman, McGill University

Outstanding Support
(Individuals that provide excellent service/support.)

  • Lixin Liu, Simon Fraser University
  • HuiZhong LU, Université de Sherbrooke

Team Choice Award
(Outstanding Compute Canada team member as nominated by his/her peers.)

  • Eduardo Fuenmayor, Compute Canada

Read the full profiles of the 2017 award winners.

Leave A Comment