Celebrating Our Experts

In June 2016, Mark Dietrich, President and CEO at Compute Canada, announced the latest recipients of the Compute Canada Awards of Excellence in recognition of outstanding support provided to the Canadian research community. The awards presentation took place at an Awards Gala as part of the annual High Performance Computing Symposium (HPCS) in Edmonton, Alberta.

This event recognizes and celebrates exceptional advanced research computing support and expertise. From coast to coast, more than 200 team members are distributed across Compute Canada’s four regions, many employed by universities, enabling them to work closely with their local research communities.

Photo: Dugan O’Neil, Weiguang Guan, Maxime Boissonneault, Minh-Nghia Nguyen, John Simpson and Mark Dietrich

2016 Winners

Outstanding Achievement Award

John Simpson, University of Alberta

Award of Excellence

Weiguang Guan, SHARCNET

Minh-Nghia Nguyen, Sherbrooke University

David Morais, Sherbrooke University

Hossein Pourreza, University of Manitoba

Trailblazer Award 2016

Dugan O’Neil, Compute Canada

Team Choice Award

Maxime Boissonneault, Calcul Québec